Daily Round-Up, November 10th, 2011

Here are your links.

Sandro Magister of Chiesa.org, an Italian news outlet, has an excellent article on the Vatican and Economics.  As I have mentioned in previous posts (here, here, and here), the Pontifical Council for Justice and Peace released the “White Document.  It turns out Cardinal Bertone was not happy with the document because it not only was not put through the Secretariat of State, but that it goes contrary to Pope Benedict’s Caritas in Veritate.  I was happy to see this myself, as, though I couldn’t finish my commentary on the document, I felt it was not quite in the tradition of Catholic Social Teaching.  This is a demonstration of how, when a document comes out of the Vatican, it does not necessarily equate with the mind of the Pope or the Magisterium.  I think, though, this brings up a bigger issue: the impact of bishops from over the world and what John Allen Jr. causes the global-ecclesial shift to the global south.  I wonder how much impact it will have.  While I do believe in an increasingly globalized curia, I do think there is something of the traditionally-Christian cultures – for now – having prominence in the Curia because they grow up in cultures that have been thoroughly impregnated with the Gospel.  Thus they have deeper roots than countries where the Gospel is newer.  Perhaps one day they will have a greater prominence in the global Church, but I think we will still see largely Western men in the high ranks of the Roman Curia and the papacy.

Apparently this is worth over Four Million dollars…I should get into selling my photos!

Sandro Magister also has another article in regards to Catholic dialogue with Russian Orthodoxy.  If you find that topic of interest, do check out the article.

George Weigel over at First Things has an excellent article on the Roman Curia.  There is an argument that the curia should be Roman, but Weigel thinks it should be more worldwide, and I tend to agree.  Check it out here.

A great photo:

The Deacon’s Bench has an article on the death of Bil Keane, creator of the Family Circus, who was also an avidly practicing Catholic.  Here is the link.

That’s all I have for today. I have some other ones, but need some time to read them first before I forward them on.  I may even get an article in today!

in Christ

-Harrison

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

