A New Blog!

Well, here I go again.

I’ve given the blog thing a try a few times.

First off, I started off with a blog that had a small bit of success. However, things began to be too much and I had to let go of something. The blog was the victim of my over-commitment.

Secondly, I started a website that would be a bit more robust. That was a ambitious, but a total failure. I had high ideas for the website, but I believe that such an idea needs to develop more organically (I had intentions of it being a blog where news pieces would be posted, where academic articles could be posted, as well as ensuring those who would read it would have the opportunity to be up to date on all that is happening in the Church and the world).

So, I have decided to give it a shot. Again.

This time I hope to apply a bit more moderation. I will post on a regular basis, but not excessively. Sometimes the posts will be reflections, sometimes they will be simple links to world and Church events with a bit of commentary by me. All in all, it is my way of having a small voice in cyberspace for the beauty of the Catholic faith and its presence in a secular world.

To start off, I wish to point to the title of the blog and the reason behind said title. The title is extracted from a book that I have found to be enormously important in my life: The Christian State of Life by Hans Urs Von Balthasar, one of my favourite theologians. The book examins the roles of Christians and how to pursue and live out the Christian vocation in one’s life. He argues, for example, that the evangelical counsels of Poverty, Chastity, and Obedience are to be lived by all Christians, though not in the same manner. Balthasar argues this because, he states, this was the mode of our first parents and the mode of life of our Lord.

I chose the title because, in a sense, everything that will be discussed here is a way of pursuing those counsels, that Christian perfection. Everything we believe as Catholics has an impact on our spiritual and practical lives. The counsesl of poverty, chastity, and obedience are the major means through which we live our lives. Therefore, if the counsels are the means to live out what we believe, then everything we discuss on this blog is a means to pursuing these counsels in our lives as Christians.

I hope my small blog will be a means for discussion and conversation as we all journey on the adventure towards holiness. May the risen Lord be the inspiration of our lives and the form of our actions.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “A New Blog!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

