Daily Roundup – November 9th, 2011

Hi everyone.  A first technical note: if something is underlined it means, 9 times out of 10, that it is a link.  I know there may have been some confusion there and will be changing my linking format when there is time to make that more obvious :).

Here is your daily roundup.  I have a lot of half-posts done, but my homework has been overwhelming as of late and so I am a little behind.  The daily roundup is all I have time for at the moment.  if I can get what I want to get done by the weekend, I can at least finish those articles and then slowly post them one at a time.  My major project is the liturgical translation since it’s coming up here soon, obviously.  I think I will also do a post on the nature, scope, and idea of the Magisterium of the Catholic Church as well, as it is a concept that we do not understand quite well in terms of the scope of its authority and, more importantly, our levels of assent required.  Despite the busyness, I need something to do whenever I get angry reading the “critiques” in a book I am reading for one of my classes.  So I stop for five minutes, put a link in my update, calm down, and get back to work :).

In the meantime, your links!

As you all know, we recently hit seven billion people in the world.  Over at the Washington Post there is an excellent article on the five myths of overpopulation.  It seems to me that the media, as usual, tend to blow things out of proportion while serious demographers, economists, etc, do not even give credence to the concept. Please check it out.

A friend of mine is releasing her second book.  You can find out more at her blog here.  We have had many interesting theological discussions and look forward to reading her new book upon its release.

A blog post with referring to Fr. Lang about the relationship between beauty and the sacred.  The images are worth checking out themselves, though I haven’t checked out his talk yet.

A talk I have not had a chance to read yet, but am referring you to anyways, is from a trustworthy source: Archbishop Chaput.  It has been popping up all over the web and so it must be saying something salient and look forward to reading it when the opportunity arises.  I very much appreciated his talks he gave in Victoria in October when I had the privilege to not only meet the holy Archbishop, but to introduce him at the conference.  Please give him a thoughtful read.

A parish hymnal the Second Vatican Council intended!  I hope to get a copy one day, though it is American and thus there is the issue of Biblical translations for liturgical use and a slightly different calendar, though I am sure it will still be plenty helpful.  One priest I know recently ordered 500 for his parish!

There is an interesting article over at Patheos about seminarians, formation, and the new media. I must be honest, I am not sure how much faith we ought to be putting in the new media.  We are so over-saturated with media, information, and images, that all things lose meaning in our lives, especially symbols.  Yet, at the same time, I think we ought to be learning to give a “soul” to the internet, much as, to an extent, Fulton Sheen gave a “soul” to television.  There is an obvious need for that, which is part of the reasons I am working at getting my blog up and running again.  But I also think there are limits: we must embrace en-force the new media.  In fact, I have a feeling the Pope’s text n the new-media was written by someone else.  The fact that the Pope does not really use any of these tools (and I don’t even know if we can call him analog!) he probably does not know the total dangers of being overwhelmed by constant communication.  Obviously, though, at the same time, we are in a world where there is constant communication and so need to reach out.  I just don’t know if it should be an embrace en-masse of all forms of communication because not all forms of communication inherently build us up as human beings.

The Mississippi amendment on personhood failed.  I am not surprised.  As I mentioned the other day, I think it is probably because they used personhood instead of life.  I think it is a case that demonstrates how we must use language carefully and not to put ammendments together in a quick manner.

In your “Weird News of the Day”, Obama has instituted a fifteen cent tax on Christmas Trees so as to set up a board and committee to promote the importance of the Christmas tree.  I know it’s small, but seriously?  Setting up a board and panel to promote the Christmas tree in society?  Is it really necessary?  This, to me, is an element of government doing more than what is required of it.  And we wonder why governments fall into financial crises?!

That’s enough for today.  I have been writing this throughout the day and am happy to say that the painful process of reading bad academic works is over for a particular paper.  If you ever have a desire to punish yourself, just pick up an academic work.  8 times out of 10 it is just, well, crap.  I have nothing good to say about pseudo-academics and how it is the prominent way of doing academics.  It is just crap.  We wonder why our kids and college students aren’t turning out the way they should?  Teachers do not actually teach.  That is for another post.  End rant.

in Christ

-Harrison

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

