Daily Round Up – December 1, 2011

Sorry for no post yesterday: was in class all day. Anyways here are some links from around the web.

Here is an article with Martin Scorsese at the BBC.  In it he critiques what he calls “theme park movies”.  I think he is totally on the ball there.  I don’t go to movies or even rent them much any more simply because they are not any good.  I will give you an example.  I did not – and still have not – seen Avatar.  When I tell people this, they look at me with shock.  “But the special effects are so amazing!”  they say.  My response is “how’s the story? What about the character development and acting?” etc.  “Oh, it’s bad acting and a bad story.  But the graphics are amazing!”  Special effects are neat insofar as they serve the storyline, not visa versa.

Think communism has fallen in Russia?  Think again.

The always insightful Fr. de Souza on the new translation of the Mass.

Archbishop Dolan speaks about building a culture of vocations.  With that, there is also a report about the rise of the number of seminarians.  I know I can speak from experience, we have 17 new guys at our seminary this year!

A small entry from a new book on Mother Teresa.  I just love her, she offers a deep spirituality that is answer for the Church in general.

An interesting interview with Bishop Fellay of the SSPX on their conversations with Rome.  It makes me more and more anxious to hear about what the Doctrinal Pre-Amble says as I think it would be a great guide in judging magisterial authority in the Church.

Some reflections by Cardinal Denielou on Advent.

The Pope on contemplating the prayer of Christ as a model for our prayer.

And finally, since it is December now and Christmas is quickly approaching, I present: Bethlehemian Rhapsody.

That’s it for today. Now it’s lunch time for me! 😀

in Christ

-Harrison

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

