Weekly Round-Up – January 18th, 2012

Hey everyone.

So, you got me.  I said on Thursday I would be back on Friday and I wasn’t.  Errands and other duties prevented me from getting back to what I need to do, and getting into my homework schedule has been keeping me nice and occupied on top of all sorts of other seminary duties.  But I’m back because today I’ve been seeing things in my e-mail and Facebook and Twitter pages that I wanted to share with you all.

So, as I stated last week, I’m moving from the Daily Round-Up to the Weekly Round-Up to ensure that things that have a slightly more lasting value are posted for your convenience and sharing.

The first is rather comedic.  I am presuming this young man is Protestant.  Yet I must say, his videos are funny, even if he is a little overboard for my likes.  I wanted to share his videos about homeschooling and “three different types of churches”.

Ok, I lied.  I have one more to share on Like vs. Love:

Here you’ll find an interesting post on a seminarian and the preparation he puts into reflections.  I haven’t put that much time in myself yet, but I see it’s importance.  What I appreciate, though, is how he sees preaching as so very central to Catholicism.  It really is.  I’ve said it here over and over again: the crisis of the Church can be based, to a certain extent, in a crisis of preaching.

Here is an interesting article on the state of the Personal Ordinariate in England.  It sounds like Anglicans aren’t so welcomed by the British hierarchy! It is an interesting and balanced read and well worth checking out.

Archbishop Dolan is preaching about sex, and has received a fairly balanced article in the New York Times about it!

Here is a beautiful (and short) article on the importance of the silence of friendship and its relation to our prayer life with Jesus.

Finally, here is an article on the abortion debate in Canada.  For those not aware, recently there has been a big bruhaha over gender selected abortions.  It is obviously horrible: every abortion is!  The article points out the double standard in the debate, however.  How is it that gender-based abortions are bad, but abortion itself is a-ok?  How can you both promote abortion and yet, at the same time, object to gender-based abortion.  There is a great inconsistency in the argument.  If you are pro-abortion, but against gender-selection abortions, then how can you be pro-abortion?  There is obviously something to the person in the womb that you are acknowledging if you are against sex-selection abortions.  So then that has to be extended to every child in the womb.  There is, as you can see, a great inconsistency to the argument.

And, actually, that’s about all I have at the moment.  I’ve noticed my time online has been pretty low since I’ve returned from the Christmas break.  Computers can be daunting and overwhelming, not to mention overly invasive in our lives.  Lately I have been enjoying reading my books – well, MOST of my books – for classes and listening to Mozart.  And praying.  Obviously praying :).  But I am finding this helpful.  I think technology removes from us the ability to be reflective.  Instead, we must always be “ON” in a world of technology because technology is always “ON”.  Reading, prayer, and culture is what really fosters life.  Yes, we live in a technological world and we need to embrace this fact, to a certain extent.  Yet, we need to tone down our dependence on technology. I, personally, have found less time on the computer and more time in books and with people to be enriching and enlivening.  Perhaps I can throw out the small challenge that you too take a bit less time on the computer and take a bit more time for books, people, and prayer.  It will work wonders in your life, I think, and bring a greater amount of peace.

in Christ

–Harrison

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

