New Head of the CDF

I am back in Victoria, though with much sadness.  Needless to say, I have built a life for myself in Edmonton with many great friends, and I will miss them very much over the next year.  That being said, I’m also excited to be back in Victoria for the first time in a few years.

I wanted to put up a quick post about the new Prefect for the Congregation for the Doctrine and Faith, Archbishop Gerhard Muller.  I have seen many news pieces and blog posts pop up on the internet that is quite reactionary.  This is based on certain select passages that are presented by an Italian journalist and are not the actual quotes of Muller himself.  He has made comments about Mary’s virginity, the Eucharist, and the nature of the Church.  I myself gave these a read and the only one I personally found concern with was his ideas about Mary’s virginity.  However, I wouldn’t call them heretical, but rather exploratory, something that is well accepted within the realm of theology.  We must also remember, our current Holy Father even held a few opinions that most people would find a little be suspect.  But they were his personal theological opinions and, in fact, they changed over time.  But even so, he never allowed his personal theological opinions to interfere with his public office.  I think the same can be said of Muller.  We should not judge him before he has even had a chance to take office.

I am not surprised that many so-called traditionalists have reacted in such a way, but that is due, unfortunately, to their very narrow view of tradition.  To be a true traditionalist, one ought to be one in line with what is put forth in Dei Verbum.  Give the guy a chance before you condemn him to eternal damnation.  What ever happened to Christian charity?  Furthermore, read what he actually said first.  Finally, if you trust the Holy Father, you will trust such a pick for such an essential office.  So trust in Pope Benedict’s choice here folks.

I could say a lot more, but I’ve said enough for now.

in Christ

-Harrison

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “New Head of the CDF

  1. Pingback: New Head of the CDF | Catholic Canada

Leave a Reply

