Another update

Just a quick update.  Things are going well.  Am stabilizing my days a bit more in terms of schedule, what I do when, etc. Am embracing he silence a lot more each day and continue to pray much, which ain’t such a bad thing :).  Am also reading a lot.  If anyone could recommend some good novels, I would appreciate it asi have almost read all my novels that I brought with me.

I met the bishop of the diocese here on Friday.  He immediately said that he will have me over for dinner once in a while and got me a spiritual director.  This spiritual director in turn invited me over to adoration at the cathedral on Thursdays as it is a holy hour for vocations and many young adults go, so he would introduce me to people there.  He also invited me to come to their Knights meeting as it is loaded with young men around my age.  So it looks like I will finally be meeting some people in town here.

We have another priest coming in on Tuesday for nine days so am looking forward to meeting another priest. The sisters pride themselves in bringing in very good priests, so I think this will be a blessing over he next six months. 

One of the things I do each day at the kitchen is to try and get to know he names of one or two of the regulars.  This is wonderful because it instantly builds a relationship to them.  Plus, I think, the people do not get known by name very often.  It is a small way to acknowledge that they do have dignity, something that never happens.

 

The sisters are getting me to preach 2 or 3 times a week.  Before they begin serving the meal, they bring all the people into the chapel for about 30 minutes of devotion.  So I usually find out 10 minutes before that I will be leading prayers.  That is the way MC sisters work.  It has been powerful to preach to people in such poverty.  It is also humbling…they are Christ to me, so if I am preaching for them, I am reaching out and preaching to Christ to console His aching heart in the Poor we serve (the p is capitalized on purpose).  My goal is simple in preaching to them: to let them know they are not drunks, addicts, etc, but rather are children of a Father Who loves them intensely and that He sent His Son to share in their pain and misery so as to lift them out of their desolation.  They are actually very religiously minded.  After preaching today, as we had adoration, I invited them to bear their hearts to Jesus.  You could tell they were pouring their hearts to Him.  Very powerful.

 

I am loving he time of prayer especially.  I am guarding it jealously and find my desire for prayer to grow daily.  I do miss having people to socialize with, but the Lord is providing other means with His presence.  I also daily lam learning about how much He provides for my needs and the needs of others.

I have more to say but need to get going and will try and update you all again.

 

In Christ

Harrison 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Another update

  1. Pingback: Another update | Catholic Canada

  2. What sort of novels do you like? I would randomly recommend: Ernest Hemmingway, The Sun Also Rises, Marilynne Robinson, Gilead, Sigrid Undset, Kristin Lavransdatter, J.G. Farrell, The Siege of Krishnapur. Though I dare say you have likely read most of these. For fantasy, I suggest Hope Mirrlees’s Lud-In-The-Mist, as well as Italo Calvino’s Our Ancestors series (starts with The Cloven Viscount (Il visconte dimezzato). If you have a taste for detective fiction, I would recommend Edmund Crispin’s Gervase Fen novels, which are about an Oxford English Professor who solves crimes. The first one is The Case of the Gilded Fly. The best comic novel I have read this year is Algernon Blackwood, Dudley & Gilderoy: A Nonsense. For good writing, V. S. Naipaul’s In A Free State. Naipaul is living master of English prose. For fashionable French philosophy-novels, I suggest Muriel Barbery, L’élégance du hérisson (The Elegance of the Hedgehog). Sentimental Americana? Maybe not, but Jetta Carleton’s The Moonflower Vine is a lost gem. If you have not read all of Cervantes and Tolstoy, drop everything and go read them. Ditto Jane Austen, Sir Walter Scott, Anthony Trollope, Charles Dickens, Wilkie Collins, the Brontës, Thomas Hardy, George Eliot, Henry James, Joseph Conrad, Virginia Woolf, John Cowper Powys, Iris Murdoch. I am reading Tobias Smollett’s novels, which are fun and easy classics. David Lodge’s How Far Can You Go? is a great portrait of a lot that went wrong with 1960s Catholicism, though it was a lot of sex in it, which you might not care for. All these are good even if outside your usual taste.

    In Christ,
    David
    agelastes.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

